Gluten Free Cereal Review: Snap, Crackle, Meh.


I’m a cereal girl, through and through.  Nothing makes a better Breakfast For Dinner than a bowl of crunchy yummy cereal, drenched in milk (well, ok, Eggs & Bacon make a pretty good Breakfast For Dinner too, but we’ll discuss my penchant for bacon another time!).

Being gluten free isn’t hard, yes its restrictive, but not as difficult as some make it out to be.  Though, when it comes to finding a good gluten free cereal the waters are a little choppy.  I’ve tried cereals that are too dry, too hard, too all around yucky and unappetizing.  Unfortunately I found another gfree cereal that isn’t worth the milk.

Rice Krispies was one of my favourite cereals  when I was a kid.  Light and airy, but crunchy and yummy, it was perfect.  When I went gluten free I was slightly heart-broken that my love affair with Rice Krispies had come to an end;  gone were the carefree days of shoveling sticky Rice Krispie Treats into my face;  that ever so satisfying snap, crackle and pop would no longer be heard from my bowl.

Needless to say that I was beyond thrilled when I saw that Kellogg’s had come out with a gluten free option made with brown rice!  This excitement was quickly doused with the first spoonful.  The taste was just so off it didn’t seem to be anything remotely close to be a “real” bowl of Rice Krispies.  I was disappointed and decided that this would be my first and last box.

Ok, so the g-free Rice Krispies are a flop.  But on a happier note, Honey & Nut Chex is delicious.  On a recent trip to New Orleans (which I will write about soon!) I discovered that Chex comes in a variety of flavours, including Cinnamon, Rice, Honey Nut (Almond if I remember correctly), Corn and CHOCOLATE!  Oh be still my heart.  Who really needs Rice Krispies anyways??  I’m on Team Chex.

Leave a Reply

