Gluten Free and now Lactose Free too!


I know its been a while since my last post.  What can I say?  There needs to be more hours in a day.  Would be great if someone could work on that.

I’ve been gluten-free for almost a year now.  The transition hasn’t been too difficult.  I used to be a huge fan of bread.  Every day it was bread, bread, bread.  When I first went gluten-free I was baking my own bread at home.  Sometimes from scratch, sometimes from a box.  Despite my domestic urges that stem from being raised in an eastern european home where the female and male roles were clearly defined in an almost caveman-like fashion (Woman cook! Man work!), I quickly grew tired of having to bake bread every week.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love cooking, but what I love even more is the freedom to choose when and what I cook or bake.  My kitchen is a place where I feel free to create whatever my little heart desires & craves that day.  So “having to” bake the same thing every weekend became such a bore!

While going gluten-free has been a relatively smooth transition, I’m now faced with a need to be lactose free.  Awesome.  So.  Awesome.  I’ve been lactose free for a couple of weeks now and I’m finding it almost easier in some ways than being gluten-free.  I’ve switched from cow’s milk to soy milk — which turned out to be a delicious switch thanks to Silk’s vanilla flavoured soy milk.  I looked at the other lactose free options in the grocery store.  Lactose free milk was waaaaay too pricey; the fat content in almond milk and coconut milk was too high; and rice milk had nothing nutritious in it.  The soy options were reasonably priced, there were several brands, and there seemed to be a variety of flavours (vanilla, chocolate, strawberry).  Soy it was!

I did a “trial run” of the milk with a bowl of Nature’s Path Mesa Sunrise and the result was Total Yummers!  Besides being absolutely delicious there’s an entire list of reasons why I’m going with Silk:

  • 6 grams Soy Protein
  • Excellent Calcium Source
  • 100% Lactose and Dairy Free
  • Very Low Saturated Fat
  • No Artificial Colors, Flavors
  • Naturally Occurring ALA Omega-3
  • Zero Cholesterol
  • Absolutely NO LACTOSE!!!

Soy milk in place of cow’s milk works for me.  But I’m a HUGE fan of cheese (and pretty much all milk products, such as yogurt, cottage cheese, sour cream, etc.).  **sigh** I need to look into healthy substitutes for all of those because my cravings are mad.

Leave a Reply

