Rice Noodles with Veggies & Shrimp


After working all day the the last thing I feel like doing is spending hours in the kitchen.  It’s important to stay gluten-free, but also maintain a balanced diet.  So while ordering a gluten-free pizza is tempting, I really can’t be doing that too often.  I can’t be eating my weight in cheese every week!

Tonight, like many nights, I was craving lean protein and veggies.  After digging through my fridge I found some lovely red & yellow peppers, some broccoli, mushroom and zucchini.  I also searched through my freezer and found a couple of packages of frozen shrimp.  Voila!  Dinner practically makes itself from this point.

There are a couple of ways to approach the meal with these ingredients.  Since I’m feeling lazy-ish I’m gonna just roasted it all!

Ingredients:

    • 2 x 230g package of frozen pre-cooked shrimps (can use larger sized shrimps, simply adjust the cook time accordingly)
    • 2 red bell peppers*
    • 1 yellow bell pepper*
    • 1/2 broccoli crown*
    • 1 pint white mushrooms*
    • 2 medium zucchini*
    • 2 medium yellow onions
    • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
    • Salt & Black Pepper, to taste

Directions:

    1. Wash veggies, drain excess water, chop & dice.  The veggies will cook at an even rate if they are all cut into similar sized pieces.
    2. Toss veggies and frozen shrimp in a large bowl with the EVOO, salt & pepper.
    3. Spread shrimp & veggie mix onto a lined baking sheet.
    4. Bake at 400F for 35-45min, depending on how large the veggies are cut and/or how large the shrimp are.
    5. Boil water for rice noodles approximately 7 min before the veggies are finished cooking.  Bring water to a rolling boil and drop noodles in.  Cook noodles for approximately 2 min then drain.  Toss with salt, pepper and 3 tbsp of lemon juice.
    6. Serve veggies & shrimp mix on top of noodles.
    7. Enjoy!
* This meal can be made with any combination of veggies.  The ones I’ve listed here are just some of my favourites, and ones that can be found almost year round in any grocery store.
** Left overs make a great lunch the next day!
Leave a Reply

